Online Critique Group | Broadcasts and Archive

Welcome to Xanadu Gallery and Art Business Academy’s Online Critique Group.

In each Critique Group meeting, we will examine a member artist’s artwork. We will review the quality and consistency of the work, talk about strengths and weaknesses in the work itself, and discuss the pricing and marketability of the submitted artwork. This is an opportunity for the featured artist to get feedback on his/her art and art career, and for everyone participating to gain insights into what makes great art.

Participation in the group is completely free, and you can either join our meetings live from your computer or mobile device during the broadcast, or watch the recording after the broadcast is completed. Just return to this page at broadcast start time to join live, or come back to this page anytime and scroll down to view archived recordings of past sessions.


Broadcast Link Will Appear Here 20 Minutes Prior to Broadcast Start Time

If you’re here at start time and not seeing the broadcast link, try refreshing the page.

 

Next Broadcast: Wednesday, June 10th, 9 a.m. Pacific

(View the start time for your time zone in the chart below)

 

Provide Feedback About the Featured Artwork

You can provide feedback about the artwork using the form below. If you join us in the live broadcast, you will also have an opportunity to provide impressions and feedback during the broadcast.

 

Broadcast Start Time by Time Zone

The next live broadcast will be held on Wednesday, June 10, 2020 at 9:00 a.m. Pacific daylight time.

Pacific Time 9:00 AM
Arizona 9:00 AM
Mountain 10:00 AM
Central 11:00 AM
Eastern 12:00 PM
Alaska 8:00 AM
Hawaii 6:00 AM
London 5:00 PM
UTC 4:00 PM
Berlin 6:00 PM
Sydney, AUS 2:00 AM Thursday

 

Archive of Past Broadcasts

 

Video of past broadcasts will appear here shortly after the live broadcast ends

2020-06-03

Featured Artist June 03: Claudia Roulier

Title a chase in the bad lands
Medium drawing and watercolor
Size 22x30x3
Price 990.00

Title the day after tomorrow
Medium mixed with ad screen which plays sfi-fi movies
Size 19x36x9
Price 2300.00

Title a singular voice
Medium mixed
Size 20x28x4
Price 900.00

Title the watchers series- part 1 of mirror image
Medium mixed mostly pencil and collage
Size 22x30x3
Price 990.00

Title a circular argument
Medium assemblage
Size 28x28x9
Price 1200.00

Presentation

 

 

 

2020-05-27

Featured Artist May 27: Carolyn Hancock

 

Click artwork to view larger image

Title Odile’s Deceit
Medium Pastel
Size 16×16
Price 2500

Title Rings and Strings
Medium Pastel
Size 16×12
Price 2500

Title Illusive Dreams
Medium Pastel
Size 24×18
Price 3300

Title Our Song
Medium Pastel
Size 12×12
Price 1925

Title Waiting for Diego
Medium Pastel
Size 24×18
Price 3300

Presentation Images

 

When asked what feedback she would most like to receive during the critique, Carolyn said “What is your immediate reaction to the painting?
What is the most important thing I need to improve/change in this painting?”

 

To view more work, visit Carolyn’s website: https://carolynhancock.com

 

2020-05-20

2020-05-13

 

No Broadcast

 

2020-05-06

Featured Artist May 6: Connie Rodriguez

Title Between Here and There
Medium Oil and Cold Wax
Size 12 x 12
Price $300

Title This Side of Time
Medium Oil and Cold Wax
Size 12 x 12
Price $300

Title Sound of Wind
Medium Oil and Cold Wax
Size 12 x 12
Price $300

Title Indian Summer
Medium Oil and Cold Wax
Size 12 x 12
Price $300

Title Fall Colors
Medium Oil and Cold Wax
Size 12 x 12
Price $300

Presentation

 

Connie would like feedback on the following:

“I am looking at value contrast and feel that I don’t have enough in the piece called, ‘Between Here to There’. I will be painting in a larger format, 24 x 24 with a 2 in depth soon. Do the depth of these, 7/8 In, create the feeling of less in worth? I noticed that many “high end” pieces in fine art galleries have a 2 Inch depth or more. I have some of those paneled boards ordered, but had these done, or almost done. What do you think in terms of depth of the cradled board? The Piece called ‘The Sound of Wind’ is not something I usually do, it is very subdued in color palette, although I think it conveys the feeling I wanted, I am not sure about the colors. Again, tempted to add more value contrast.”

 

2020-04-29

Featured Artist: Cydney Steeb

Title Kattegat
Medium Watercolor
Size 16×20
Price $325

Title Lunch Is Served
Medium Watercolor
Size 16×20
Price $275

Title Peggy’s Cove
Medium Watercolor
Size 20×24
Price $300

Title Crazy Daisy Days
Medium Watercolor
Size 16×20
Price $275

Title Springbrook Creek
Medium Watercolor
Size 16×20
Price $275

Presentation

 

 

 

2020-04-22

Ask Me Anything Session

 

2020-04-15

Featured Artist, April 15, Chas Martin

Title Wild Idea
Medium Mixed media
Size 20″H x 24″W x 12″D
Price $1300

Title Cautious
Medium Mixed Media
Size 23″H x 18″W x 8″D
Price $1000

Title Premonition
Medium Mixed media
Size 32″H x 15″W x 8″D
Price $1500

Title Me and My Shadow
Medium Mixed Media
Size 20.5″H x 18″W x 16″D
Price $1500

Title Aware
Medium Mixed media
Size 26″H x 12″W x 8″D
Price $1200

Presentation

Title Cautious
Medium Mixed Media
Size 23″H x 18″W x 8″D
Price $1000

 

 

 

 

2020-04-08

Featured Artist, April 8th, 2020: Cory Goulet

Click here to watch the recording of the session:

 

 

Title Elvis
Medium Pastel
Size 11×14
Price 1200.00

Title View From Above
Medium Pastel
Size 21×27
Price 1900.00

Title The Warm UP
Medium Pastel
Size 9×11
Price 1100.00

Title In House Graffiti Art 2
Medium Acrylic, collage
Size 9×14
Price unpriced

Title Graffiti Art Series
Medium acrylic, collage
Size 12×12
Price unpriced

Presentation

 

 

 

 

2020-04-01

Featured Artist, April 1st, 2020: Christine Crozier (Monterey, CA)

 

Click here to watch the session:

 

Title It Might As Well Be Spring
Medium oil
Size 16×20
Price 1800

Title Summer Magic
Medium oil
Size 24×24
Price 3100

Title Shadow Boulders
Medium oil
Size 18×24
Price 2350

Title Over The Top
Medium oil
Size 20×24
Price 2600

Title Popcorn Sky
Medium oil
Size 12×12
Price 1000

Presentation

 

 

 

 

2020-03-25

Featured Artist: Claudia Tremblay (Montreal)

Click here to watch the recording:

 

Artwork

Click on the photos below to view larger images

Title Felicia
Medium 30 x 40 inches
Size 30 x 40 inches on canvas
Price 2400.00USD

Title Blue Dreams
Medium oil-acrylics on canvas
Size 30 x 40 Inches
Price 2400.00 USD

Title Tanya
Medium oil-acylics
Size 16 x 20 inches
Price 900.00 USD

Title Silvia
Medium oil on wood board
Size 30 x 40 inches
Price 1995.00 USD

Title I am not here
Medium oil on canvas
Size 30 x 40 inches
Price 2400.00 USD